The Ocean at the End of the Lane- Neil Gaiman

“Grown-ups don’t look like grown-ups on the inside either. Outside, they’re big and thoughtless and they always know what they’re doing. Inside, they look just like they always have. Like they did when they were your age. Truth is, there aren’t any grown-ups. Not one, in the whole wide world.”

15783514

I wanted to love this book. I did. I wanted it to be pure magic. Look at that cover! It’s a little weird and a little quirky and I wanted to love it. And I didn’t. Whomp.

This is a story about a man who returns home and starts remembering. There was a little girl who lived at the end of the lane and she had a pond she called the ocean. They go adventuring and the boy gets in trouble. Bad things happen. And then they get fixed.

The end is satisfying- I was happy about that. This was my pick about book club so I think I worried a little too much how other people would be enjoying it, instead of deciding if I was enjoying it. I love that the main character doesn’t have a name.

I’ve been told not to give up on Neil Gaiman. I’m going to give another book a try first. American Gods has been the top suggestion.

GoodReads: 3 Stars

Recommend: Yes? Yes. It’s short and quirky. I’d recommend something else first, but wouldn’t discourage you from reading it.

Leave a Reply

